Update alerts at Documentation grid
Changes to the list
When you are at the documents grid you can see when another user has just updated the list.
This gives you the opportunity to refresh the list and see a totally up to date picture.
Changes to the document you are updating
When you are editing a plain or formatted text document, it is possible that another user is also working on the same document at the same time.
When either user saves their changes, the other user is alerted that the document has changed.
This gives the other user the opportunity to copy their own changes to a temporary location, refresh the document and then apply their changes to the latest version, instead of overwriting the first user's changes.
Note that this system does not apply to linked documents, such as Word documents, because a document locking mechanism prevents users updating the same copy of the document at the same time.