Locking and unlocking documents

In certain installations of Case Manager, linked documents such as Word files need to be locked to make sure that users can edit them without overwriting each other's changes. To learn more about this you should start with the introductory video:

The document locking mechanism depends on how you run Case Manager:

  • Only one user in a Case Manager system
  • No document locking is required.

  • Installation on a local network
  • No extra document locking is required.

  • Installation on a local network and web access is enabled
  • Extra document locking is required to prevent web and windows users editing the same file simultaneously. This operates automatically, see Local plus web document locking below.

  • Hosted at a remote location
  • Extra document locking is required and operates automatically, see Remote document locking below

  • Using the web version on a browser
  • Extra document locking is required and users play a role in the process, see Locking and downloading documents in the Learning site for the web version.

Best practice procedures

In summary:

  • When you edit a linked file in another program, always save and close it before returning to Case Manager.
  • Keep an eye on the Locked (open) documents window as you work. Address any locked documents issues quickly while your memory is fresh.
  • An authorised user should monitor the Document Lock Manager to manage persistent unlocked documents across the whole system.

How does document locking work?